Yes, it is possible to make a Twitter account private. Once you make the account private, only followers (all of which you have to approve) will see what you post. You can switch your account to private through the Twitter settings menu. This is located in the notifications tab on the left hand side of your screen. Under your name you will see the ‘Privacy and Safety’ tab. Toggle ‘Protect my Tweets’ on. Your account is now private.